History of the campground

A piece of land, a stream, a story…

The doors of Camping Le Ruisseau Bleu, one of the first official campsites in Quebec, opened to the public in the summer of 1962. After making the purchase in joint ownership of the lots belonging to Mr. Moses Lemieux on June 30, 1960, Mr. Paul Laflamme and Madame Azèle Shannon Lamontagne lay out the ground so that they can receive the first campers. At that time, only the lower part of the campground included the necessary services for the installation of the trailers. There were also a total of six cottages built along the Chaudière River, a chapel that was destroyed in 1992 a pavilion with four showers and four toilets and a swimming pool. The upper part remains a beautiful place to picnic in nature and to welcome wild camping enthusiasts.

Mrs. Lamontagne, who was the sole owner of the campground from March 18, 1967, sold the land to Mr. Charles Latulipe on September 2, 1975. Only then did the campground grow. The upper part is furnished and all the services that can accommodate the trailers are installed. A new pool, the current pool, was built in 1976. The community hall and the host house are also built, bringing a new aspect to the campground.

Subsequently, other owners acquired the campground to bring, in their own way, a new aspect giving it all the seal that we know today. Among these, Mr. Denis Paquet, owner of the land from 1991 to 1995, left his mark by expanding the community hall and by further developing the lower part of the campground. Campground Le Ruisseau Bleu is then sold to two families in the region of St-Hilaire, Gadouas and Lauzon and belonged to them for seven years. Finally, the campground was bought in 2002 by Paul-Émile St-Pierre and Johanne Canuel who continue to work and develop the campground with the same enthusiasm as during the first days of the opening of the campground 50 years ago.

Owners


Paul Laflamme and Azèle Shannon Lamontagne: from 1962 to 1967

Azèle Shannon Lamontagne: from 1967 to 1975

Charles Latulipe: from 1975 to 1991

Denis Paquet and Margot: from 1991 to 1995

Famille Gadouas and Lauzon: from 1995 to 2002

Paul-Émile St-Pierre and Johanne Canuel: from 2002 to today





Vintage photos

Histoire du camping

Une parcelle de terre, un ruisseau, une histoire…

Les portes du Camping Le Ruisseau Bleu, l’un des premiers campings officiels au Québec, s’ouvrent au public à l’été 1962. Après avoir fait l’achat en copropriété des lots appartenant à Monsieur Moïse Lemieux le 30 juin 1960, Monsieur Paul Laflamme et Madame Azèle Shannon Lamontagne aménagent le terrain de manière à pouvoir recevoir les premiers campeurs. À ce moment-là, seule la partie basse du camping comprenait les services nécessaires pour l’installation des roulottes. Il y avait également au total six chalets de construits le long de la rivière Chaudière, une chapelle qui fut détruite en 1992 un pavillon abritant quatre douches et quatre toilettes ainsi qu’une piscine. La partie du haut demeure un magnifique coin pour pique-niquer en nature et pour accueillir les amateurs de camping sauvage.

Madame Lamontagne, qui était l’unique propriétaire du camping à partir du 18 mars 1967, vend le terrain à Monsieur Charles Latulipe le 2 septembre 1975. Ce n’est qu’à ce moment que le camping prend de l’ampleur. La partie du haut est aménagée et tous les services pouvant accommoder les roulottes sont installés. Une nouvelle piscine, soit la piscine actuelle, est construite en 1976. La salle communautaire et la bâtisse d’accueil sont également construites, apportant ainsi un nouvel aspect au camping.

Par la suite, d’autres propriétaires ont fait l’acquisition du terrain de camping pour y apporter, à leur façon, un nouvel aspect lui donnant tout le cachet qu’on lui connaît aujourd’hui. Parmi ceux-ci, Monsieur Denis Paquet, propriétaire du terrain de 1991 à 1995, laisse sa marque en agrandissant la salle communautaire et en aménageant davantage la partie basse du camping. Le Camping Le Ruisseau Bleu est ensuite vendu à deux familles de la région de St-Hilaire, les Gadouas et les Lauzon et leur a appartenu pendant sept ans. Enfin, le camping est acheté en 2002 par Paul-Émile St-Pierre et Johanne Canuel qui continuent de travailler et de développer le camping avec le même enthousiasme que lors des premiers jours de l’ouverture du camping il y a 50 ans.

Propriétaires


Paul Laflamme et Azèle Shannon Lamontagne: de 1962 à 1967

Azèle Shannon Lamontagne: de 1967 à 1975

Charles Latulipe: de 1975 à 1991

Denis Paquet et Margot: de 1991 à 1995

Famille Gadouas et Lauzon: de 1995 à 2002

Paul-Émile St-Pierre et Johanne Canuel: de 2002 à aujourd’hui





Photos d'époque